Saturday Snapshot: Late-blooming Orchid

I’ve been waiting a year and a half for my orchid to bloom–and it finally did!  It had lovely flowers when I first got it, and I was told that it would probably bloom again in a year.  Well, it didn’t…and I waited…and didn’t quite have the heart to toss it out…and finally this spring it burst out with buds.  I’ve been watching it like a hawk for three weeks as bud after bud opened, waiting for the perfect moment to take a picture and share with all of you!

I count twelve blooms, plus one more bud I think will open, and two tiny ones that might.  I guess it was worth the wait!

Visit At Home with Books for more Saturday Snapshots.

21 thoughts on “Saturday Snapshot: Late-blooming Orchid

  1. Gorgeous! And you got two stalks!? That’s pretty cool. My orchid only ever gives me one but it keeps coming back once a year so I’m not complaining 🙂

  2. How wonderful! Sometimes it is very hard to wait for things to happen…but you were rewarded.

    Thanks for sharing…and for visiting my blog and the “blooming” of my eldest grandchild.

Share Your Thoughts